The Consumption

It’s Wednesday! And from now on that means I’ll be yakking about things I’ve read or watched or listened to lately, so here’s a little update as to where I’m at.

Surprising no one more than myself, my comic reading habits have changed dramatically from even 6 or 7 months ago. I used to easily hit 20+ comics per month, and now I’m lucky if I hit one a week. Maybe my tastes have changed, maybe I’m harder to please, but there just aren’t that many comics that are really grabbing me right now. I don’t even collect Superman regularly, which is a bit like a bishop missing mass. Although I should point out that Greg Pak’s Action Comics is a mainstay, one of the few books I read month on month. (Along with The Wicked + The Divine and anything Ellis has written that month.) Comics just aren’t exciting me like the used to, certainly not at the pro level. And this has led to even my comics writing ambitions sliding a little. Comics will always be my first love as a medium for storytelling, but lately everything from the most popular content to the inner workings of the industry has just felt wrong, sometimes even poisonous. More than ever, I need a strategy and philosophy for comics that will carry me through. Maybe I’ll work it out here.

I’m currently reading all the Robin Hobb I can get my hands on. The Farseer trilogy was wonderful, so now it’s Liveship’s turn. I know there are more trilogies with Fitz and co after Liveship, so I’m eager to progress. That being said, Liveship is a great series in itself. I’m a sucker for politics in my comics and novels, and Liveship seems to be playing with that a little more than Farseer did. I’m also hoping to get more into my “classics” in the future, having had Don Quixote on my Kindle for quite some time now. I try and read a fiction followed by a non-fiction, but the trilogies keep sucking me in…

As for TV, I’m midway through a rewatch of my favourite TV show, the West Wing, and about halfway through Sense8. They share an unabashed romanticism about people and the world in general – people are generally good and decent and will come through in the end. That’s so far up my street it’s sitting in my favourite chair. I think we might be seeing a post-cynicism era of genre TV coming through, with Sense8, Supergirl and the Flash coming to mind immediately. I hope so. Pop culture’s dark night of the soul is long overdue its daybreak. Also watching and loving Doctor Who, which might be having its best series since Matt Smith’s debut. I feel like this series is about the effect of and importance of companionship, which really doesn’t bode well for the resident companion. Looking forward to seeing where this goes.

That’s it for today, just a wee overview before we get into the good stuff. Hope you keep reading!

(OH, gaming – I mainly play Destiny on X-box One at the moment, but will shift to Battlefront when I can.

2 responses to “The Consumption

  1. I’m convinced that the centre of gravity for superhero storytelling has shifted to film and TV because they’ve figured out how to achieve what comics have spectacularly failed to do over the last few decades – engage a mainstream audience. And I’m okay with that – the film and TV guys seem to be able to get to the roots of the characters and do something *fun* with them.

    That said, I’d have no problem if someone decided that the Bats vs Supes grimdark was too much and decided to let the Arrow/Flash/Supergirl producers make a Superman series…

    • Greg Berlanti has my absolute trust at this point, I’d give him a Superman series in a heartbeat!

      So long as a particular shark turns up. Every episode. One of royal descent.

Leave a Reply

